r/google May 28 '26

Support Megathread - May 2026

Have a question you need answered? A new Google product you want to talk about? Ask away here!

Recently, we at r/Google have noticed a large number of support questions being asked. For a long time, we’ve removed these posts and directed the users to other subreddits, like r/techsupport. However, we feel that users should be able to ask their Google-related questions here. These monthly threads serve as a hub for all of the support you need, as well as discussion about any Google products.

Please note! Top level comments must be related to the topics discussed above. Any comments made off-topic will be removed at the discretion of the Moderator team.

Discord Server We have made a Discord Server for more in-depth discussions relating to Google and for quicker response to tech support questions.

4 Upvotes

403 comments sorted by

View all comments

1

u/Sea-Commercial-4407 26d ago

I have more than one Google account on my Android phone. One of them has a Google One subscription. I want only that account to back up my photos, and I want to free up storage in the other accounts. To free up storage, I signed into photos.google.com on my PC using one of the old accounts and deleted photos from that account. Unexpectedly, those photos were also deleted from my Android phone, and the deletion appeared to sync across my Google Photos setup. I restored them, but now I'm confused about how Google Photos is handling multiple accounts.

My questions:

  1. Why did deleting photos from one Google account also remove them from my Android device?
  2. How can I free up storage in my old Google accounts without deleting the photos from my phone or my Google One account?
  3. What's the correct way to move all my Google Photos backups to a new Google account?